Blog Feature: Jasmine talks with us about her Natural Hair Journey


This weeks blog feature is Jasmine she talks with us about her natural hair journey. Thanks Jasmine 🙂

Jasmine Gayle

Jasmine

When/Why did you decide to go natural?

I’ve been natural all my life. But I decided to completely wear my hair naturally and go on a natural hair journey in October 2013. I know my whole entire life I have never really liked my natural hair. I always hid it under cornrows and box braids thinking that straight long hair is what’s ‘pretty’. When I realize that was mentality I decided to change that and learn how to take care of my hair and learn that it is beautiful. So…here I am.

How long have you been natural?

I’ve been On my natural hair journey for now 3 months but technically

Why/When did you decide to go Natural?

Technically I’ve been natural all my life. (Except when I was 13) But I decided to go completely natural and have a healthy natural hair journey in October 2013.
When I was 13, my hair fell out from box braids and then my mom relaxed it. It was all short, choppy, and really damaged. Then I would wear corn row extensions for 3 years and my hair grew back, but I grew obsessed with length.
So straightening out my hair damaged and made me loose a lot of my hair and I kept hiding behind corn rows. Eventually I really grew tired of hiding my hair thinking that in its natural state it isn’t pretty. It was time to embrace my hair and learn how to take care of it myself. So…here I am!

Is being natural what you expected? What stage are you at in your natural hair journey?

No being natural is not AT ALL what I expected. I would wake up and go with the corn row extensions in my hair. I never had to take care of it and I really got use to that lifestyle. Being natural, however, is a whole ‘nother lifestyle. I have to wear a cap, moisturize, wash…lots of new responsibilities! But it’s exciting though, to know that the way I’m taking care of it makes it grow. Now as for the stage in my journey, My hair suffered a lot of damage in the back from all the blow-outs and high heat of flat ironing. And the front is still longer than the back. (Uneven Hair Issues) Lol However, I’m now at neck length.

What texture is your hair?

I believe it’s is between….a 4a/4b texture.

How did you transition?

I never really transitioned into going natural hair journey per se. But I did transition from relaxed hair to when I was 13. Which was previously explained. However I didn’t do it cause I wanted natural hair just did it so I could have long hair again.

What are some words of wisdom/advice/ or inspiration you have for any one that may be considering following in your foot steps in to the natural world?

I would say that if you’re thinking about going natural, but too scared to make that plunge. Do it. Be bold. I wouldn’t go back despite the frustration, despite the maintenance, the fear, the everything. And Everything you’re going to want is a process. It’s going to take time. It’s a process. It is going to take time. It is a process. See how many times I said that? Because I know we all get frustrated really easily and Patience is one of the things that isn’t really stressed in the natural hair community. We talk about Tips, Tricks and techniques and we expect that if we do all these things we will get long hair. However, going natural is not a go-natural-get-long-hair-quick thing. Take the process to be a time to get a natural mindset. Take that process to get comfortable with who you are and give yourself time to get there. GIVE YOURSELF TIME TO GET THERE. The rest will come to you and you’ll find out it was worth it.

Where can you be reached via social media?

http://www.naturallyblack.wordpress.com

One comment

  1. The famous Bill Crosby once said, “It isn’t a matter of black is beautiful, as much as it is that… white is not all that’s beautiful.” I hope that his words speak to your hurting heart of acceptance. My goal in this life is not to redefine beauty, but to change what it’s built on. My blog series, is in hopes that we can all see that our black, white, yellow, green, pink, orange, and every color in between has beauty of its own.

    http://beautymyblack.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

